Skip to content

About Us

Coon Creek Watershed District (CCWD) is local government formed by citizens in 1959 petitioning for local authority over how 92 square miles of land draining to Coon Creek in central Anoka County was ditched and developed. In 2012, we were given additional jurisdiction over 15 square miles draining directly to the Mississippi River in Coon Rapids, Fridley, and Spring Lake Park, for a total of 107 square miles.

Click here to find out if your address is within our boundary.

Our Mission

To manage groundwater and surface water drainage systems to prevent property damage, maintain hydrologic balance, and protect water quality for the safety & enjoyment of citizens and the preservation & enhancement of wildlife habitat.

How It Works

Watershed districts have legal authority and obligation to develop & manage a uniform program of water & related land management under the MN Watershed District Act & Metropolitan Water Management Act.

We are currently updating our Comprehensive Plan (click link).

Besides a Board and Staff, we have a Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and a Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC).

Scroll for our Reports, Plans, and Staff webpages